Ramadan-athon (Yang Kedua)

29 Jun

As I’m typing this, I have just finished my first suhur meal of the 2014 Ramadan month. Yes, Ramadan, the Muslim holy month of fasting and abstaining from vices such as smoking, sex, and food as a means of getting closer to God, has descended upon the world once more. For the next 30 days, I will be joining my family in fasting from sun-up to sun-down (approximately from 4:30 AM until 5:30 PM). This also includes no water. Thankfully, Indonesians love their naps as much as I do, especially during Ramadan, so that helps a lot to fight off the hunger while waiting for Maghrib (the sunset/5:30 PM call to prayer). 

Ramadan Fun Fact: Since Islam follows a lunar calendar, that means it is apporximately 11-12 days shorter than a solar year (a.k.a. the year that the Gregorian calendar is based upon). This means that Ramadan shifts its starting/ending days by about 11-12 days every year. Here’s a table of the starting/ending dates of recent Ramadans, courtesy of my friend, Wikipedia. Also, for more info about Ramadan, check out this Wikipedia article too, or just do a quick Google search yourself. 

Selamat Ramadan dan Puasa!

 

Leave a comment